Vintage Video Games – a new hobby!

I have an odd relationship with video games.  Sometimes I will get into a habit of playing a specific game almost obsessively, and then I will move on with my life and not touch a controller for months.  For years, I’ve been afraid to admit that I’m a gamer; some of my more social endeavors have taught me that most of my contemporaries are of the opinion that the only people who play video games are virgins who live in their parents’ basements.

I just don’t believe that’s true.  For me, it’s the simple activity of having something that stimulates my brain.  I play video games when I get bored to tears of television (which is too often).  That’s not to say that I never watch TV… I have certain TV shows that I enjoy, but as for the standard mind-numbing ignorance and staged reality shows, I hate them.  What’s worse; they rot my brain.  My little brain is almost always begging for something to poke at.  TV is just not interactive enough for me.

So, I’ve started playing even more games, rather than watching TV.  Puzzle games, social games, or just fun shoot ’em ups.  As a result, I started missing the “old school” video games… namely The Legend of Zelda for Super Nintendo Entertainment System (SNES).  Dug it outta the attic, picked up right where I left off.  It had been nagging at me for years because I never did beat that game…

Aside from seeing all my old games on a 60″ plasma screen, it all feels very nostalgic.  Fun, but not what I was hoping for in terms of something that would keep my brain entertained after work and in between social events.  A quick foray onto eBay blew my mind… these SNES games are actually being sold for money.  Some of them are going for BIG money.

If you’re not aware that retro gaming is making a comeback, then you’ll be just as surprised as I was to discover that there are SNES games going for over $200… and these aren’t mint-condition, in the box kind of auctions.  This is simply a hunk of gray plastic with a 16-bit game stored in it.  Crazy!  Well, you know my general opinion of things when shopping… if it’s expensive, that must mean it kicks ass, right?!?  Naturally, I suddenly crave these $200 SNES games that I’ve never heard of.  Oi vey.

So, as of late, I’ve been seeking out things such as garage sales and flea markets for the first time in my life.  Very interesting places… such an interesting combination of complete shit, interesting things, and random produce (yeah… produce… I said fucking produce.  Who buys their produce from a flea market?  I wouldn’t put anything from that place into my mouth… Sorry).  It’s been a fun and adventurous new hobby so far.  I’ve met many people that completely embody the typical “gamer” (by which I mean complete losers) but I’ve also met some neat people who are, like me, (almost) normal.

So, if you want to go rooting around in your attic or basement and pull out some old SNES games, keep me in mind!  I’m really enjoying collecting them, playing them, and trading them.  Maybe you will too!

Leave a Reply

